by Stefan Stenudd


Medium Coeli in the Complete Horoscope

The Description of How You See Yourself in Classical Astrology

Medium Coeli in the horoscope.
The understanding of oneself,
how one perceives and regards oneself,
independently of what others might surmise.

Medium Coeli, MCMedium Coeli (MC) is also called the Midpoint, because it is the Zenith of the Zodiac in the horoscope. Its counterpart is Imum Coeli (IC) the lowest point on the Zodiac, below the horizon.


Your Health in Your Horoscope. Book by Stefan Stenudd.

Your Health in Your Horoscope

This book by Stefan Stenudd explains what your horoscope says about your health, according to the old tradition of medical astrology. The book contains a quick introduction to astrology, as well, and instructions on how to read a birth chart in general. Click the image to see the book (and Kindle ebook) at Amazon (paid link).

       Medium Coeli is not a heavenly body at all, but treated much the same in astrology. It moves much faster than any of the planets: the full circle of the Zodiac in 24 hours, just like the Ascendant. Therefore it is necessary to know the exact time of birth, in order to establish the correct MC.

       Because the Ascendant is the eat horizon, and MC is Midheaven, the normal distance between them is 90. But it can differ, because of celestial and heavenly angles. Still, MC is never below the horizon, and positions close to 90 from the Ascendant are the most common ones in horoscopes.

       In the horoscope, Medium Coeli represents one's image of oneself, how you perceive your own personality. That might be close to how you really are, but that's not at all necessarily so. We all risk fostering completely delusional images of ourselves — to some extent it's what we like to do: regard ourselves as fancier than others are likely to describe us.

       We also tend to present ourselves to others (through the Ascendant) in a way that we ourselves regard as far from the truth. That's shown by the normal right angle between the two points of the horoscope. It is typical for the human character not to trust that what we believe ourselves to really be is enough to impress others. So, we play roles.

       Anyway, what we believe ourselves to really be is exactly what Medium Coeli presents in the horoscope.

Aspects to MC

The aspects (special angles) that the MC has to planets in the horoscope show to what extent we agree or are aware at all of other sides of our personality.

       So, an opposition to a planet shows that we refuse to recognize or accept that side of our character, whereas a conjunction means that we are completely convinced about the existence and importance of that side to us. A trine or sextile means a positive attitude to the character in question, but a square means struggle with it. If there is no aspect at all between the MC and a planet, it means that you're not aware of this side of yourself at all.


In some House systems, MC is always the cusp (starting point) of the 10th House. But in other systems, such as Equal House, it can be in anyone of the 7th to 12th House. The deviation from the cusp of the 10th House depends very much on the latitude of the place on which the horoscope is based — the farther from the equator, the farther from that point MC can be. Most common, though, is a position in the 9th or 10th House.

Medium Coeli (MC) in the Zodiac

Here are short descriptions of how each Zodiac sign influences Medium Coeli, the image you have of yourself, when that's where it is in your natal chart.

Aries brings trust in one's own abilities, sometimes over confidence.

Taurus brings a modest view of one's talents, to the point of underestimating oneself.

Gemini brings a relaxed view of oneself, without demands or frustrations, as if of little importance.

Cancer brings unselfishness, a wish to be good unto others.

Leo brings personal pride and the conviction of being special.

Virgo brings a sense of being competent and serious, maybe also kind of boring.

Libra brings a sense of having high moral standards, and a sharp intellect.

Scorpio brings a sense of being unable to understand oneself, and kind of enjoying it.

Sagittarius brings a will to define oneself as different from others, and a need to believe it.

Capricorn brings a sense of being able to do just about anything, and the inclination to try.

Aquarius brings a sense of being utterly wise and the need to let everybody know it.

Pisces brings a sense of craving, but uncertainty as to the nature of it.


Here are the twelve Zodiac signs, and keywords for the character they give to Medium Coeli, i.e. the image you have of yourself:

Aries   winner

Taurus   steady

Gemini   charming

Cancer   caring

Leo   proud

Virgo   diligent

Libra   ethical

Scorpio   intriguing

Sagittarius   independent

Capricorn   competent

Aquarius   profound

Pisces   weak

The Planets

Here are the planets and other celestial points used in astrology, with links to the webpage of each:

Planets and Celestial Points












Medium Coeli


Click the image to see the book at Amazon (paid link).

Tarot Unfolded. Book by Stefan Stenudd.

Tarot Unfolded

This book presents an imaginative method of reading the divination cards, which is the most appropriate for the Tarot, since it consists of symbolic images.

Archetypes of Mythology. Book by Stefan Stenudd.

Archetypes of Mythology

Jungian theories on myth and religion examined, from Carl G. Jung to Jordan B. Peterson.

Cosmos of the Ancients. Book by Stefan Stenudd.

Cosmos of the Ancients

All the philosophers of Ancient Greece and what they thought about cosmology, myth, religion and the gods.

Life Energy Encyclopedia. Book by Stefan Stenudd.

Life Energy Encyclopedia

Qi (chi), prana, pneuma, spiritus, and all the other life force concepts around the world explained and compared.



How to Make Your Own Horoscope

Your Health Horoscope

Sex in Your Horoscope

Zodiac Archetypes

Financial Astrology

Daily Horoscope Guide — What to Expect

Tetrabiblos — the Ancient Astrology Bible


Zodiac — the "how" of the horoscope

Planets — the "what" of the horoscope

Houses — the "where" of the horoscope

Aspects — the "why" of the horoscope


2024 presidential election horoscopes for Donald Trump and Joe Biden

Joe Biden's 2020 presidential election horoscope

Pete Buttigieg's 2020 presidential election horoscope

Donald Trump — impeachment horoscope

Donald Trump — will he resign?

Hillary Clinton

Mike Pence

Barack Obama

Anders Behring Breivik

Michael Jackson

Sarah Palin

Brad Pitt

The USA Horoscope — Finding and Reading It


The USA Pluto return 2022 horoscope

Capitol attack horoscope

Covid-19 coronavirus horoscope

Future of the Internet

The Age of Aquarius

USA 2016 Election

Mundane Pluto — Its Effect on Society

Mundane Neptune — Its Effect on the Arts


About the Complete Horoscope Website

Disappearing Ascendant — Latitude Effects

The Envelope Chart — Horoscope of the Past

Astrology Links

Astrologi på svenska




The twelve Zodiac signs and what they mean in astrology.

Aries Zodiac Sign


Taurus Zodiac Sign


Gemini Zodiac Sign


Cancer Zodiac Sign


Leo Zodiac Sign


Virgo Zodiac Sign


Libra Zodiac Sign


Scorpio Zodiac Sign


Sagittarius Zodiac Sign


Capricorn Zodiac Sign


Aquarius Zodiac Sign


Pisces Zodiac Sign



Tarot Card Meanings

Tarot Card Meanings. Website by Stefan Stenudd. Try the old Tarot deck of cards with a free online divination. How to use the Tarot and what each card means.

I Ching Online

I Ching Online. Website by Stefan Stenudd. Try the ancient Chinese divination online for free. The 64 hexagrams of I Ching, The Book of Change, and what they mean in divination.

Stefan Stenudd

Stefan Stenudd, Swedish author of fiction and non-fiction.

About me

I'm a Swedish astrologer, author and historian of ideas, researching ancient thought and mythology. My personal website:

© Stefan Stenudd